And suddenly I’m a singer!

It’s known by many of you who have followed my blog that a few years ago I started doing a school of rock programme. This programme led me to start my own band (Bits ‘N Pieces) and on Tuesday night we had our first ‘real’ gig! That means a gig where we didn’t pay for the venue or invite our friends or family to come and watch us. 

It was a corporate event (our drummer’s day job wanted to hold a pre-launch party, and he told them we would do it!), and it was in a cool little jazz bar in the city, where people from the street could walk in if they wanted to. 

The gig was a great success! So much fun, and even though some of our songs were a bit of a mess, the crowd danced and cheered and thanked us after for being there and giving them such a good time!

Although I was excited, I wasn’t debilitatingly nervous at this gig, which was so refreshing, and afterwards made me believe that actually, now I am a singer in a band! Woo hoo!

My fave genre to sing at the moment is rock and we certainly gave the crowd a good demo of songs with “All Fired Up” by Pat Benetar, “Kryptonite” by 3 Doors Down and “Honkey Tonk Woman” by The Rolling Stones just to name a few!

Getting time to practice is tricky with Mr 11 always complaining of boredom and needing to be taken to places, and Mr 2 always up to no good and saying, “stop that singing Mummy!” Little monkey. It’s like he knows that it’s something I want to do for me and therefore needs to ensure I don’t get to do it!

Here are a couple of pics from the set up of the gig. I couldn’t get any while we were performing as I was busy, and didn’t have anyone watching that I knew!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

