A long journey

WordPress reminded me today that it’s been FIVE years since I first started writing here. Wow. Five? Crazy. I can’t believe we’ve been sharing this journey with our 10 year old son for that long. It made me think I really should find some time to catch dear old wordpress (and anyone who reads it) up.

My phone broke last week. That’s always hard to deal with. I really liked that phone. I’ve had to succumb to a more modern larger one. I had to wait to get it. I now have to wait for a new SIM card because it needs a nano one. Sigh. Bigger phone…smaller SIM card. Annoying.

I don’t have photos of my boys this week because my phone broke. I also might have lost a fair number of pics in the depths of the phone that didn’t save to my SD card. Sigh.

However…. Mr 10 is on a new medication called Abilify. Yes, it’s in the same kind of category as many of the others he’s tried, but he just really needed some help. I am still homeschooling him, so that is fine with ADHD, but the depression and anxiety and sadness he was experience was just too much. He needed help. He has it.

The difference in him is extraordinary. He’s so much calmer, happier, better able to stop and take stock of his emotions, this allowing us to step in and help coach him in ways to deal with them appropriately. He was desperate for some friends, and now with the medication he actually has a chance of making some finally.

He has attended two Scouts meetings recently and the first time he lasted 1 hour, but only because he got tired when his meds kicked in and the fact that he actually participated for the whole hour! The second time he stayed for the whole 2 hours! He even said he had had fun. Wow. I didn’t get any phone calls or emails the next day asking us not to bring him back. That’s pretty much a first.

He has had the opportunity to play Minecraft a few times with the 14 year old boy who lives across the road, and that’s quite lovely to see them chatting and having fun together. The older boy keeps forgetting that our son is only 10 though, and that’s quite funny too.

We still have a major hurdle and long way to go with his attitude towards school work or learning in any official capacity. I think the years at school just traumatised him so much that he just still really has a mental block when it comes to anything that might resemble schoolwork. It’s definitely taken to a dysfunctional level. For example, I came home recently with a couple of boxes of interesting science experiment kits from ALDI. When he saw the boxes he was immediately interested and wanted to do them. I said we would wait until tomorrow because they would be great to do as science and count it as science work done. His face changed instantly. He pushed the boxes away and said they were boring and he wasn’t interested if they were for learning! The very same boxes that he would have torn into and done with great happiness if I hadn’t linked it to learning! Argh. So frustrating. I haven’t been able to get him to be interested in them since.

The only thing that can be done is to take everything very slowly and cautiously. Not push him too fast or too hard just because I can see the potential for improvement. It’s excruciating. Especially when I know he’s so clever and personable and so capable if only.. if only… Well it’s a long long journey with these special kids and thank you to WordPress for letting me share the next 5 years with you all.

This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

