Too busy, too sleepy

Well, my posts are getting fewer and further between as we approach Christmas. Too much to do and not enough time or energy to to it I guess.

I’ve finished the Creative and Professional writing unit I was doing for Uni, and I got a Distinction in the end, so can’t complain about that. 🙂 Now I’m on to the last unit for the year (and for half of next year as I’m stopping to have a baby!). Australian Literature up to the 1950’s. So far, I’m neither enjoying nor hating it. It’s more academic than the last unit naturally as it deals with analysis of poetry and literature. There is a lot of reading involved, which I’m struggling to keep up with among all the other stuff I’m doing.

My Motown concert was two weeks ago now and it went really well. I was so worried that I would forget the words as I was suffering terribly from ‘Baby Brain’, but it all went well and I sang the best I have at any of my shows so far. Yay! It felt really good to belt out a song and have the crowd give me a huge cheer at the end of it. 🙂

Although I do love School of Rock, I’m giving it all a rest now for a while. I seem to be still really struggling with tiredness in this pregnancy, but apart from that it’s all going well. The 20 week scan showed us a little healthy boy, and I can feel him wiggling and moving a lot now. I have only put on 4kgs so far and that’s not too bad, so hopefully I don’t have Gestational Diabetes, but I will be testing for that in the next couple of weeks.

My son has been in a Lego building frenzy this last two weeks. He’s spending the entire day out in the lounge room with movies on and just frantically building one creation after another. It’s crazy! There are Lego vehicles, mining operations, planes, robots, machines and who-knows-what all over our house! Hopefully he’ll settle down a bit before Christmas and we can get him to disassemble and clean it all up before more new Lego makes its way into the house!

I’ve got the Christmas tree and decorations up around the house, and things are a lot tidier now that I’ve bought some new bits of furniture to help put things away. I wish I had time and energy to give you a separate post on the furniture as I got it really cheap and did it up myself over the last few weeks. It would have made a good post. Never mind though.

I’ll be posting a review of a musical I went to see last week by a young upcoming producer. It is was “The Last Five Years”. It showed at NIDA and was done beautifully. As I said, I’ll get a proper post and review up about that soon though.

For now, everything is pretty calm. My son has his moments still, but seems to really be trying and getting so much better. We had one major meltdown recently which also sent Daddy off into a rage, but they both calmed down and made up again for the most part. It’s really hard when that happens, but I can’t expect them both to get it right every time all the time. Sometimes I need to step in, or step back depending on what’s going on with them at the time. It will be very interesting to see how we go with the new baby and what sort of personality/temperament he has.

So, Merry Christmas to my readers, Happy New Year, and I will get back into more fulfilling posts next year I hope!

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Family, Life in general, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Too busy, too sleepy

  1. JudgeRoy says:

    Congratulations on the new baby. Your course sounds very interesting. I’m only able to read Doctor Who stories now when my brain isn’t too tired at the end of the day. If possible could you snap a picture of Corey’s creations. I’m glad that he’s found something to busy himself with. I’ve gotten into video games. I do miss being creative but I’m not sure how to get back into it.

    • KL says:

      Thanks Judgeroy! Good idea on the photos, I’ll take some tomorrow and post them up! I think he’s taken apart some of them but there are still a lot around!

  2. JudgeRoy says:

    Oh, and I hope you have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

