It’s been a long time

It’s been a long time between posts lately. I’ve been extremely sick with ‘morning’ sickness. Every day I’ve felt like throwing up continuously through the whole day and couldn’t eat anything to give me energy. That meant that if I did one small household task during the day, I then had to sleep for an hour!

Finally this last week I’ve been able to eat actual real food. I am not just over 14 weeks pregnant, so the sickness seems to be settling down some. I’ve been able to eat a small amount of meat and fish. I’m pretty OK with most fruit now as long as I go slow and sit down afterwards (it sounds so ridiculous when you actually ‘say’ it out loud!) and I’ve been able to get out of bed a bit more, which is a relief to everyone in the house!

On Sunday I performed 4 songs in the Big Music Motown School of Rock show at the Crows Nest Fair, which was a lot of fun. I’ve been struggling to rehearse with having no energy to speak of, and basically after my Monday night rehearsals, I had to sleep all day Tuesday to make up for it! Fortunately, I should be able to start fitting in a little bit of practice at home though now that I can eat.

It’s five more weeks before we can find out the gender of the baby, which we are all very excited about, and this weekend is our son’s ninth birthday. NINE! Yikes, how did that happen?

He’s been struggling lately. I can only assume that the effect of completely being off Risperdal for over eight weeks is starting to kick in. He’s very argumentative, surly, rude, anxious and angry all the time. Unfortunately, it’s causing quite an unsettled mood in our house. There is also the fact that I haven’t been able to give him the usual amount of attention during the day because I have been in bed and either asleep or sick so much. Poor little guy.

I did address the issue with him the other day in the car on the way home from trampoline class where he had refused to cooperate, and he been quite rude to the coach numerous times. He was demanding that I get him McDonalds, which wasn’t going to happen, and he started getting angrier and more aggressive the more I denied him what he wanted. He started shouting at me,

“Just get me what I want and we won’t have to have this trouble!”

I lowered my own voice to a very calm tone and gently said to him,

“Sweetheart, listen to yourself for a second. That is absolutely not the way children should speak to their parents. It’s not normal for you to speak to me like that either. Something else is going on in you and it’s not because you aren’t allowed to have McDonalds.”

He removed his croc shoe and started hitting my arm with it. Still shouting that there was nothing wrong except that he needed a different family because both myself and his dad are just mean all the time and never give him anything and always get him in trouble. Hmmm…

I calmly informed him that he was wrong, and that he need to consider that he was over reacting and that it was due to the fact that his brain works differently and that it’s not medicated now. I suggested to him that either he needs to start being aware of that and trying to do something about it, or we can get him some medication that will help him if he feels he needs the help. Then, once I’d let that settle in and he started up shouting again because I drove past McDonalds, I very deliberately raised my voice to a loud but not angry tone and said,

“That is enough! You do NOT speak to your parents like that! You know it will not get you anywhere, and it is unacceptable. Now, pull yourself together and STOP IT! You will eat whatever I make you for lunch and that’s it.”

He went quiet, he looked a bit angry for a moment and I thought he was going to back chat like usual, but instead he kept whatever he was going to say inside, and in the very next breath, he spoke to me calmly and respectfully!

We got home, I made him a ham and cheese toasted sandwhich, he thanked me politely and happily ate it. So I praised him for calming himself down so well and getting his tone and attitude back under control.

It’s tricky though, for him, me and his dad.

Hopefully we’ll all get around it one way or another. 🙂

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s been a long time

  1. Andrea says:

    Hi Kathryn,

    You are amazing! How do you find the strength to tame a child that is off his medication, nurse your morning sickness and perform your concert? Plus all the other things you also do …… Good little boy too Corey for the calm person you can become without medication 🙂 You are a strong boy to be in control of yourself and help mum in the process.

    Andrea

Leave a Reply

