To procrastinate, one must first find other things to do…

I am becoming remarkably adept at procrastinating. Procrastination is such a ridiculously long word that you can in fact procrastinate in getting to your point simply by writing it in your sentence!

I live in a fairly old house and there are many things I could be doing in order to finish off some of the decorating we have been doing. I could paint the lovely windows that I had installed last year. I could mow the lawn. I could re-paint my blue door white to match the windows. I could do any number of little or big cleaning jobs throughout the day. I really should be doing these things.

I should also be writing. A lot. Especially since I am hoping to make some money from my writing skills one day! However, in the course of a day I can find myriad different things to do other than writing or renovating. I think I’m scared of what might happen (or more accurately not happen) if I were to actually complete a piece of writing to a point where I was ready to send it off and see if anyone will buy it.

Today my procrastinating skills reached new heights as I tried to trick myself into writing. First I started folding clean washing and then told myself to stop that and do something else like maybe clean the bathroom. I really didn’t want to do that so I told myself to do some writing then. Great! Myself thought. Here we go. We are sitting down to write! Oh! I have email. Better check that first. That reminds me, I should go outside and check the letterbox too. Right back inside and ready to write! Goodness is that the time? I better just have some lunch first. I was aware by this stage that procrastination had set in. So I tried to tell myself that writing was a great way to procrastinate doing the painting or building that needs doing… Didn’t really work. Myself is too smart I guess đŸ™‚

While eating I did something I have never bothered to do before. I said it was for research purposes in case I spotted an opportunity to send in a story or article. I actually read our local paper instead of throwing it directly in the recycle bin or tossing it to the giant white puppy to shred.

Now if I had found an opportunity to send an article or letter then I guess it was research instead of procrastination. What I found though was that our local newspaper is seriously the single most boring piece of publishing I have ever had the misfortune to waste 20 minutes reading! Therefore it turned out to be merely a tool of procrastination!

After lunch I ventured back to the half folded washing (it was too messy to leave!) then finally sat back down at my desk and did a tiny teeny bit of actual writing. Then I noticed that there were dishes to put away; washing to hang up; navels to be contemplated….and then before I knew it it was time to get my son from school!

What are some of your most creative ways to procrastinate?

KL

This entry was posted in Life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

